November 8, 2013

Filthy Music Review - 'Sperm Donor: Accidental Incest'

Sperm Donor – Accidental Incest (2013)

Review by Jude Felton

New Haven’s Sperm Donor has a wicked sense of humor, in case you hadn’t guessed. However, they don’t let this get in the way of penning some damned fine tunes. Humor in music is just fine and dandy, just as long as it isn’t the focus of the band’s output. It’s a fine line to tread and Sperm Donor stomp all over this line, and laugh at the mess they make.

The first thing I should mention, after the first thing I already mentioned, is that for once I actually get to review a vinyl record, as opposed to a digital download. Sure, I have plenty of vinyl at home, and some of the albums/singles I have reviewed, however it was the digital version that got coverage, with me spending a few sheckles after. This time out though, the first time I listened to Accidental Incest was on glorious vinyl and, believe me, this is the way to listen to it.

Sperm Donor delivers a pounding punk/noise/sludgy hybrid, that’s all fuzzy guitar, thumping rhythm and screaming vocals, and it’s a blast to listen to. Opening with the charmingly titled ‘She fucked Kevin Bacon’ and closing with ‘Track 7’, which is actually track 9, they don’t mess about with epics, instead getting in and out in 5 minutes or less.

It’s what they pack into these 5 minutes (only one track is around 5 minutes, with the rest being 3 or less) that counts though. There’s a bristling energy, even when they slow things right down to an almost dirge-like crawl, and before you know it they are firing on all cylinders again.
Accidental Incest is an album to have fun with, whilst still enjoying some great tunes, so get in there and feel the noise!

Track List:

1. She fucked Kevin Bacon
2. Compulsive Fornicator
3. So Long Motherfuckers
4. Dolly Parton
5. Endless Forget
6. Song X
7. Human Warehouse
8. Bertold
9. Track 7

Accidental Incest is available on vinyl and digital here.

No comments: