April 28, 2013

Filthy Music Review - 'Nails: Abandon All Life'

Nails – Abandon All Life (2013)

Southern Lord Recordings

Review by Jude Felton

There are a ton of bands out there that bang out songs at a jolly old rate. However, you can forget about them and check out Nails latest album; Abandon All Life. In just under 18 minutes they will batter the shit out of you with this devastating blend of grindcore, death metal and hardcore.

In Exodus starts the album off, and lulls you in with its mid-tempo intro. Brace yourself though because it soon hits top gear and royally thunders along for its 1min 18 sec running time. This sets the tone for Abandon All Life, but do not think that it is all performed at breakneck speed. Yes, the majority of it is very fast, incredibly brutal and totally unforgiving, but they also take their collective feet off the case on occasion, and then get even heavier. Tracks such as Wide Open Wound and album closer Suum Cuique are thunderously heavy tunes, with the latter even hitting the 5 ½ minute mark.

Initially I thought that an album of this length would not hold my attention. How very wrong I could be though, as you don’t have any choice in the matter. It grabs you, pulls you in and doesn’t let go until you’re a beaten and bloody mess. Abandon All Life is a hate-filled excursion into spite, with vocalist Todd Jones unleashing the lyrics as if he hates their very existence. It is quite stunning, and if it was any longer I suspect that paramedics would need to be called.

Even though this is a very fast and short album, the songs contained on it are all quite superb and carry their own identity. Whereas some albums of this ilk may just blur into a single wall of sound, Nails have managed to mix it up perfectly, raising it head and shoulders over their peers.

I honestly believe that you’ll have to look long and hard before you find another album release this year that matches the sheer intensity of Abandon All Life. Highly recommended.

Track List:

1. In Exodus
2. Tyrant
3. Absolute Control
4. God's Cold Hands
5. Wide Open Wound
6. Abandon all Life
7. No Surrender
8. Pariah
9. Cry Wolf
10. Suum Cuique

Abandon All Life is released by Southern Lord Recording on CD,Tape and Vinyl and is available now.

No comments: