December 2, 2013

Filthy Music Review - 'Falkenbach: Asa'

Falkenbach – Asa (2013)

Prophecy Productions

Review by Jude Felton

Such has been the quality of output in 2013 across the board, in terms of extreme metal, that I have only just got to this fine album. It was released at the beginning of November, and I’m still kicking myself for not getting to it sooner. The sixth album from German outfit, Falkenbach, but first to my ears, is an epic, sweeping thing of beauty.

Falling into the Pagan/Folk/Viking metal bracket, Asa starts off with the haunting and majestic Vaer Stjernar Vaerdan, with its beautifully restrained vocals and sweeping music. This serenity is quickly shifted aside though when Wulfarweijd muscles its way in at track 2. In fact this is a theme that follows throughout the running time of Asa; the tempo ebbs and flows.

This actually works perfectly within the structure of the album, allowing each individual song to develop its own identity, and not falling foul of one track bleeding into another.

Lyrically, I’d be lying if I told you I knew what was going on, as I don’t speak German especially well. However, the sheer emotion of each song, through the music and vocals, penetrates deep into the listener. Such is the majesty of Asa that it will have the hairs on the back of your neck standing up. This is an album of stunning depth, without resorting to overplaying the music (you won’t find a track over 7 minutes here), instead each song crafts its own vivid soundscape.

I could go on about just how damned good Asa is, but I think that if you haven’t got the drift yet, another two or three paragraphs won’t make an awful lot of difference. So, I’ll just close by saying that Asa is absolutely superb and is highly recommended listening.


1. Vaer Stjernar Vaerdan
2. Wulfarweijd
3. Mijn Laezt Wourd
4. Bronzen Embrace
5. Eweroun
6. I Nattens Stilta
7. Bluot Fuër Bluot
8. Stikke Wound
9. Ufirstanan Folk

Asa is available now and is released by Prophecy Productions.

No comments: