April 24, 2013

Filthy Music Review - 'Runes of the Evening: Runes of the Evening'

Runes of the Evening – Runes of the Evening (2013)


Review by Jude Felton

Before listening to this self-titled album I will admit to not knowing an awful lot about Runes of the Evening. To tell the truth, I don’t know a hell of a lot about them after listening to it. What I do know though, is that they are from Dallas, TX, have previously released two EP’s and they absolutely destroy.

Not knowing what to expect, going in, kind of threw me a curve; maybe we’ll be getting some sort of folk metal, with druids prancing around aimlessly? How wrong could I be? The answer to that is simply, very. Runes of the Evening deliver, over 7 tracks, an absolutely blistering assault to the senses, with their blend of melodic death metal and furious black metal. What came to my mind while listening to this album, of which I have many times, is that they sound take the pounding rhythms of Amon Amarth, amp it up by about ten, lace it with some sweeping black metal and let it simmer for 40 plus minutes.

Quite simply I think this is a glorious album; the melodic lead guitar work laced with the brutal rhythm guitars play wonderfully over what I can only describe as drumming from hell. Seriously, these drums get one hell of a pounding. If you don’t start banging your head to this I would recommend a visit to your local Audiologist, as you have hearing problems.

I’ve said it before, and as is usually the case I will say it again, but some albums just hit me, they connect with me and this is one of them. All seven tracks are terrific, but in particular the second one, Of Bravery and Will, is probably my favorite. The gradual build of the intro, then the drums kick in, driving this tune straight into oblivion; it’s an awesome tune.

Fortunately, it would appear that Runes of the Evening know that too much of a good thing can be detrimental, so the album’s running time of around 43 minutes is just perfect. It’s long enough for you to get swept up in the music, but not so long that it outstays its welcome. Even though Runes of the Evening do like to put their collective feet to the pedals, they do also mix it up with some more mid-tempo sections, and this only adds to what is a fantastic album.

It seems that almost every week I come across a new album that impresses the hell out of me, and Runes of the Evening is definitely the latest one. So let’s go mow down some druids!

Track List:

1. Hail the Victorious Dead
2. Of Bravery and Will
3. Deities of our Deities
4. Where Shall I Spill my Blood?
5. What Once Was
6. The Vanguard Marches
7. The Spiral Descent

Runes of the Evening is released on May 4th by Mordgrimm.

No comments: