September 25, 2012

Filthy Music Review - 'Looper' Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Looper: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (2012)

Review by Jude Felton

The Rian Johnson directed thriller, Looper, hits theaters later this week (September 28th). The film stars Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Bruce Willis, and from what I have seen of the previews it looks like it could be a cracking good yarn. Accompanying the film’s theatrical release is the Soundtrack which was composed by Nathan Johnson, so I thought I would give that the once over. Actually, more than the once over as it’s been on loop (sorry!) on my iPod recently.

Now, I can honestly say that I am not familiar with Nathan Johnson’s previous musical output; quite simply because he has only composed a few scores prior to this one. However, on the strength of the Looper soundtrack I am guessing that we will be hearing far more of his work in the years to come. Aside from the fact that this soundtrack is very good, it is a nicely varied selection of music. Running to just under 50 minutes the score does embrace some of the more typical sweeping musical elements that are found in larger Hollywood productions, but also the music contains plenty of interesting elements that make it stand out.

Whilst the soundtrack does have a futuristic feel to it, after all the film is set in 2072, it also has an almost industrial, and at times, tribal feel to it, which counterbalances the music perfectly. As I was listening to the Looper soundtrack I couldn’t help but get taken back to Maurice Jarre’s soundtrack to Mad Max beyond Thunderdome. No, we don’t have any Tina Turner here, but the actual score reminded me of Jarre’s album. I’m not saying that it sounds just like that album, but that is what came to mind as I was listening to the Looper score. Even so, as an album it most certainly does have its own identity.

The best way to sum up my thoughts on this album would be to say that it is an album you can put on and just get caught up in the music. Even though some of the songs are short, ranging from 46 seconds up to just over 5 minutes, there is a really nice flow to the album, and it’s definitely well worth picking up.


1. A Body That Technically Does Not Exist
2. A Day in the Life
3. Closing Your Loop
4. Seth’s Tale
5. Run
6. A Life in a Day
7. Time Machine
8. Hunting the Past
9. Following the Loop
10. Mining for Memories
11. A New Scar
12. Her Face
13. City Sweep
14. Revelations
15. The Rainmaker
16. La Belle Aurore
17. Showdown
18. The Path Was a Circle
19. Everything Comes Around

Looper is released at theaters on September 28th.

No comments: