June 11, 2017

Weregoat - Pestilential Rites of Infernal Fornication.

Weregoat - Pestilential Rites of Infernal Fornication.

Iron Bonehead Productions / Parasitic Records (LP + MC versions) / Vault of Dried Bones (CD)

Review by Trevor Proctor.

From Portland in Oregon Weregoat has been creating Bestial Black/Death Metal covering topics such as blasphemy, lycanthropy and sex since their formation in 2009. From then until now the band has released two EPs and two split releases.
Their 2011 debut demo release, ‘Unholy Exaltation of Fullmoon Perversity’  was well received and followed in 2012 by their first split, the lethal, ‘Disciples of War’ which they shared with Diocletian – a split that set Weregoat well and truly on the road to wider recognition. Another EP followed during 2013 in the form of the brilliant ‘Slave Bitch of the Black Ram Master’ which was released on vinyl by Iron Bonehead Productions, but it would be February 2015 before Weregoat would release any further new material. This new material featured on the essential compilation ‘Jesus Fucking Wept vol. 1,’ a compilation that featured new and exclusive tracks from some the underground’s most exciting bands – Necroblood, Necroholocaust, Ogdru Jahad, Impure Worship and Weregoat, with Weregoat contributing two tracks.

Formed, and remaining as, a three piece Weregoat consists of Nocturnal Hellfuker on bass and vocals, Sadoseducer on drums and Lecherous Agressor on guitars - Lecherous Agressor replaced the original guitarist, Indiscriminate Impregnator, in 2014.
Weregoat’s members all have extensive experience with other underground bands. Nocturnal Hellfuker currently plays for a number of bands including Ascended Dead and Ritual Necromancy; in the past he has performed with bands such as Knelt Rote and Thy Infernal. Sadoseducer also currently plays in a number of bands including Mournful Congregation and Sempiternal Dusk and is also the current live drummer for Saturnalia Temple. The most recent addition to the Weregoat horde, guitarist Lecherous Agressor is a current member of Sempiternal Dusk and Aldebaran .

Weregoat have played a few high profile live dates this year with their lethal music and potent live sets justifiably earning them places on billings such as the Invoking Black Death Fest which also featured Demoncy and Nyogthaeblisz,  and also a support slot for Blasphemy and Archgoat in Vancouver. The video later in this review features snippets of previous live performances, including from one of America’s greatest underground festivals, Destroying Texas Fest, where they performed in 2016.

From February 2015 until now there have been no further releases from Weregoat but their limited yet steady stream of prior releases has been more than enough to build the band an immense following within the underground, resulting in the band becoming revered as one of the cultest bands of the modern Bestial Metal scene. Weregoat’s music is the epitome of Bestial Metal – “sonic bestiality incarnate” and whilst it reflects the "ancient ways" it also has a disgusting, debauched energy and character all of its own.

Weregoat has long standing relationships with two of the underground’s greatest labels, Parasitic Records and Iron Bonehead Productions. Previously Parasitic Records has brought us some exceptional music from bands such as Shroud of the Heretic, and Antediluvian among many others and they were also the first label to release music from Weregoat, releasing their debut EP on vinyl followed by a vinyl version of the ‘Disciples of War’ split with Diocletian. Germany’s Iron Bonehead Productions released the ‘Slave Bitch of the Black Ram Master’ EP in October 2013. These relationships will be further cemented as Weregoat’s debut full length, ‘Pestilential Rites of Infernal Fornication,’ will be jointly released by both labels on vinyl and cassette at the end of June and another first class label, Vault of Dried Bones, has just released the CD version. 
‘Pestilential Rites of Infernal Fornication’ was recorded and mixed at Red Lantern Studios in Portland by Evan Mersky and was mastered by James Plotkin. 
Weregoat’s cover artwork usually typifies the blasphemy fuelled, perverted nature of their music with the cover for this release following that trait, the art is the creation of the extremely talented tattooist and artist Daniel Shaw. The album also features a guest vocal performance Impurath from Black Witchery.

‘Pestilential Rites of Infernal Fornication’ features ten tracks of exemplary Bestial Metal that span over thirty eight minutes and with track titles like ‘Molested by Evil’ and ‘Forked Tongue Lashes Between the Virgin’s Thighs,’ the blasphemy and perversion levels are as high as ever. 
The album starts with an ominous church bell ringing and goat effects in the background but this relatively quiet start doesn’t last for long as Weregoat set a very high standard, and pace, from the off with their lesson in Bestial Metal. 
Instantly noticeable is the sheer energy from their music as a high speed excursion in the depths of depravity ensues. The high octane energy that Weregoat’s music bursts forth with is something that many other bands will never achieve, it’s a full frontal 3D assault on the speakers and eardrums with no let-up or solace. The production on this album is second to none with every note and nuance rendered in totally immersive music that surrounds and attacks you from every angle. 

Put simply, this is one of the best albums of this style of music I’ve EVER heard, it has everything you could possibly ask for; intense demonic vocals, seriously good drumming, riffs all over the place that would make even a non-believer head bang, randomly placed solos that let rip when you least expect them and, most of all, songs that are as catchy as they are energetic. From receiving the promotional email at the end of April this album has been played at least once daily by me and I’m still enjoying it as much as I did on the first listen. 

It’s a perfect album in every way and can’t be faulted by me, with a track available to stream above and also the inclusion of a video Weregoat recently released below there’s enough here to start, or continue, your addiction to this unbelievably good band and also give you a good indication as to what to expect from the rest of the album.

‘Pestilential Rites of Infernal Fornication’ is a compulsory addition to any extreme music collection and an album that must not be missed.

Bestial Metal Perfection. 10/10.

01 - Goatlust Invocation
02 - Osculum Infame 
03 - Molested by Evil 
04 - Screaming Forth Endless Blasphemies and Emitting Foul Seed upon the Pitiful Face of Benevolence 
05 - Forked Tongue Lashes Between the Virgins Thighs 
06 - At Full Moon She Bleeds 
07 - Under the Whip 
08 - Malediction Command 
09 - As Cold as the Devils Seed 
10 - Pestilential Rites of Infernal Fornication.

‘Pestilential Rites of Infernal Fornication’ by Weregoat has just been released on CD by Vault of Dried Bones - the LP and cassette versions will be jointly released by Iron Bonehead Productions and Parasitic Records at the end of June.

No comments: