February 5, 2017

Mutilator - Immortal Force - Re-Issue Press Release

Mutilator - Immortal Force Re-Issue Release information from Greyhaze Records.

Mutilator was one of the most representative and influential bands of the Brazilian Heavy Metal scene in the 80's and 90's. The band released only two LPs, but these two albums are still considered true references for all who listen to heavy music in the world.

The band started out in 1985, using the name Desaster. When Sílvio SDN came in, they renamed the band as Mutilator. The first demo was recorded, and it led them to the Warfare Noise I compilation, released in 1986, which also featured the bands Chakal, Sarcófago and Holocausto. This was a very important compilation for the promotion of the Heavy Metal scene of the Brazilian State of Minas Gerais, who had already yielded such bands as Sepultura and Overdose.

In 1987, Sílvio SDN left the band. The band then recorded its first LP, Immortal Force, in which they produced a vigorous Death/Thrash Metal, deeply influenced by Slayer, Possessed and Bathory. The album, which is considered a classic release today, has been fully remastered, and contains new artwork and the songs from the band’s first demo, previously released only in the LP Lost Tapes of Cogumelo, in 1990.

In 1988, the band recorded the LP Into the Strange, with a different line-up, and a new direction that headed towards a more Thrashy Metal style. Though less known than its predecessor, Into the Strange is an important document when it comes to the evolution of Brazilian heavy metal. Both Mutilator albums serve as strong statements of a style that would be refined in later Brazilian Metal albums, such as Sepultura’s seminal Beneath the Remains.
Mutilator ceased to exist after the release of Into the Strange. Mutilator’s guitar player, Magoo, unfortunately passed away sometime after Mutilator’s split, putting a definitive end to this fantastic outfit.

01 - Memorial Stone Without A Name
02 - Blood Storm
03 - Butcher
04 - War Dogs
05 - Mutilator
06 - Brigade of Hate
07 - Immortal Force
08 - Tormented Soul
09 - Paranoic Command
10 - Evil Conspiracy
11 - Visions of Darkness.

No comments: