October 28, 2013

Filthy Music Review - 'Colosus: Blestem'

Colosus – Blestem (2013)

Kaotoxin Records

Review by Jude Felton

The fall is upon us, the nights are drawing in and this morning I had to scrape bloody ice from my windshield. Actually, the ice wasn’t bloody, although that picture would probably suit this review quite nicely. This time of year, through to the spring is perfect for black and doom metal, from the ideologies, the imagery and the very music itself. Personally, once I have gotten rid of the damned ice, I love to go for a drive at this time of year, with the grimmest of music playing.

One such band that fit this bill perfectly is Colosus, which is the solo project of one Krhudd, as the music contained on Blestem is wonderfully tortured and bleak. Taking elements of doom and atmospheric black metal, Blestem powers along, creating pained atmospherics along the course of its duration.

If you know me, you will know that I am a fan of albums themselves, rather than individual songs. I rarely listen to just a tune here or there, preferring instead to soak in the entire musical soundscape. Blestem is one such album that truly benefits from you taking the time to fully absorb it. Sure, there are terrific individual songs, such as the epic Mormant, but as an entire piece it is truly epic.

I’ve actually had the album for a few months, blind buying it on the strength of Kaotoxin’s previous output, but it’s only recently that I have had time to fully appreciate it. Maybe I was just waiting for the weather to change? Blestem is certainly not happy music, although there is a definite feeling of passion and an almost uplifting feeling to the doom and gloom.

Doom, black metal, ambient, call it what you want, Blestem is a growling animal of an album, and is highly recommended if you are a fan of the aforementioned sub-genres. Another home run for Kaotoxin, and an absorbingly superb album from Colosus.


1. Desertaciune 
2. Mormant 
3. Intuneric 
4. Blestem 
5. Dorinta 
6. La Apus
7. Red Snow (Coldworld cover) 
8. Pustiu 

Blestem is available on digital download as part of Kaotoxin Record's Sideblast series, and can be purchased here.

No comments: