May 6, 2013

Filthy Music Review - 'Darkall Slaves: Abysses of Seclusion'

Darkall Slaves – Abysses of Seclusion (2013)

Kaotoxin Records

Review by Jude Felton

Some bands are happy to churn out an album, EP or single every year, and if you’re a fan that can be great, if the quality is up to par. Darkall Slaves are not quite so prolific, with only a self-released EP, back in 2008, seeing the light of day prior to this single release. Fans of crushing death metal should rejoice though, as this is 10 minutes of utter savagery.

Hailing from France, Abysses of Seclusion started off life as a pre-production demo, but Kaotoxin Records were so impressed that they have decided to release it as a single, which is great news for us.

The single opens with the innocuously titled Intro, which is a creepy evil sounding piece that takes sound-bites from The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (the 1974 original), and should get you prepared for the avalanche that is to follow. The two songs proper are Mindless Damnation and Abysses of Seclusion, and both are absolutely brutal slices of destructive death metal.

Abysses of Seclusion is a perfect example of great things coming in small packages, and when it draws to a close you are going to be wanting a full length from this band that features two vocalists. Guttural vocals dual with screeched vocals as the guitars lay on top of a delightfully heavy low end.

Delivering a distinctly US style death metal, Darkall Slaves have the chops to back it all up and deliver a single that strips away any fat, leaving two thoroughly impressive tunes. The CD version of Abysses of Seclusion will be limited to 1000 hand-numbered copies, so I suggest that you get in there sharpish. Now, let’s hope we don’t have to wait 5 years for the full album!

Track List:

1. Intro
2. Mindless Damnation
3. Abysses of Seclusion

Abysses of Seclusion is released on CD (Limited to 1000 copies) and Digital on June 4th by Kaotoxin Records.

No comments: