January 4, 2014

Filthy Review - 'Amon: Liar in Wait'

Amon – Liar in Wait (2012)

FDA Rekotz

Review by Jude Felton

Way back in the day, okay so the late 80s, before Deicide became the Christ-baiting scourge of the world, they were known as Amon. A quick branding and we all know the rest; they are still going strong today, and have just released their strongest album in years. However, this isn’t about Deicide; it’s very much about the reformed Amon and the vinyl re-issue of their 2012 album, Liar in Wait.

The Brothers Hoffman, Brian and Eric, who both left Deicide, reformed Amon and I for one am eternally grateful. The reason being for this is that listening to Liar in Wait brings back the same sort of feeling I had when I first listened to both Deicide and Legion, which are still the best albums from Deicide in my opinion. Liar in Wait is a demonic abomination from start to finish.

The songs come thick and fast, and sound fresh as fuck. This is good quality death metal, which in today’s climate may stick out slightly, due to the current popularity of both incredibly technical death metal and absolutely crushing death metal. There’s nothing wrong with either of the aforementioned, far from it, with some of the best death metal albums in years being released recently, that could fall under both banners. However, Liar in Wait is very much in the vein of early Deicide; you are going to hear similarities in places, from the great guitar work through to the vocal delivery.

However, with Amon, and more specifically this album, the Hoffman’s have brought a far thicker and penetrating sound; this is a heavy album to be sure. But, without resorting to an almost Doom-like approach, Amon hit us full-throttle, as they speed along, barely giving us time to breathe. When they do, it’s usually to throw in a quality guitar solo; remember those? Me too, and the Hoffman’s are on fire here.

Death Metal is having one of its most exciting periods in a very long time, with all splinters of the genre throwing up not just good albums but great ones. Liar in Wait may have been around for a couple of years now but, with this vinyl re-issue, now is the perfect time to revisit it, as it is simply a damned fine album; there are nine songs for your listening pleasure and no weak spots.

The vinyl re-issue, from FDA Rekotz, has brand new artwork and is limited to 200 gold/black marble copies and 400 Satanic black copies. I suggest you grab a copy.

Track list:

1. Among Us
2. Eye of the Infinite
3. Lash Thy Tongue and Vomit Lies
4. Liar in Wait
5. Reaching for Flesh
6. Semblance of Man
7. Sentience and Sapience
8. Spat Forth from the Darkness
9. Wraith of Gaia

Liar in Wait is released on vinyl by FDA Rekotz on January 31st, 2014

No comments: